Le Challenge – Clamshell cushion

Hi,

It’s been such a long time since I’ve blogged, but today I’m sharing my recent finish made as part of this months Le Challenge theme, Era.

image

I (fairly quickly) decided on Art Deco/1920s, it was a beautiful time, don’t you think?

I chose Emerald as my main colour and (as a new Sizzix Big Shot owner) decided on a clamshell shape.imageFans and clamshell shapes really appealed to me and are in keeping with the geometric styles of the period.

After a few different ways of working (for the first time) with clamshells, I decided to appliqué them.

I used Kona Emerald and Cotton and Steel basic in White Netorious and my Bigz 4.5″ Die.

To finish I hand stitched around the clamshells with a light silver Aurifloss (because I’ve had them since Festival of Quilts and I was desperate to use them!)

imageClamshells we’re fun to try. Next time, I’m going to try machine piecing them, with all those different curves, I might need some practice first!

Lou

Linking up with Le Challenge

Published by

Lou Orth

New site at www.louorthdesigns.com

23 thoughts on “Le Challenge – Clamshell cushion”

    1. Thanks Emma! Yes, is quite curvy. I think it’s worth getting and having a play with the curves. There are loads of tutorials out there for sewing clamshells, I’m going to give piecing them a go, with no project in mind, just to try. 😊

      Like

Love a good comment...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.